Since its the middle of the week and things tend to get a bit slow, I thought I should make Wednesdays a link dropping day. I will post fascinating news articles and websites that have kept me (and soon-to-be you) a smidgen less efficient. I’m certain that while it may slow down more important tasks (like paying your bills or replying to that very important email from your boss), these articles may enrich you a bit and possibly make you more interesting at those summer dinner parties :P.

The Man Who Sold the World By Michael Lewis

Found on VanityFair.com and written by Michael Lewis, the author of the infamous “Liar’s Poker” (Read it, know it). To be honest, although I am generally aware of what precipitated the current financial situation that afflicts us, I was unaware of the details. This article explores the possibility that this situation can be traced to one Wall Street financial division and its head: AIG Financial Products and Joe Cassano. It’s a long five-page affair but a fascinating and well-written piece. (I must admit the title of the article somehow got Nirvana’s cover of “The Man Who Sold the World” stuck in my head for a while)

TheCoolHunter.net

I came across this website while looking at a really interesting ad from Seoul, Korea. (See: Nikon D700 Guerrilla Style Billboard — I would not want to walk past that sign if I were epileptic) What struck me the most while looking at their posts was that European concepts for various products, had a certain something that North American design seems to lack. I can’t seem to put it into words…perhaps a certain imaginative quality? The entry on a German school designed by its students and architecture group Baupoliten was particularly interesting considering how they based the design on a the magical and fun concept of a Silver Dragon.

Erika-Mann Grundschule II classroom (Source: TheCoolHunter.net)

Erika-Mann Grundschule II classroom (Source: TheCoolHunter.net)

Resolved: She’s Just Not That Into You

Written by Taiye Tuokli-Wosornu (I had to check three times to make sure I spelled that correctly), this fascinating and admittedly bittersweet article can make you smile and cringe. Discussing the forever understanding and amazing girl that somehow makes every guy she befriends believe she’s the one (and vice versa). The truth is he’s not, and this infamous “G” type girl is liable to break your heart until you understand that you’re not the only one she’s so utterly fascinated by. I’m looking forward to the follow-up article discussing how to date such a girl. To be honest, I winced when I read this article because I know many male and female friends that have been in this situation. It doesn’t usually end well: friendships become splintered while lingering feelings of betrayal, unrequited love and bitterness are left in its wake. Let’s hope the next article has ways to resolve the ‘dating’ issue happily :).

I think that’s enough links for now, hope you all have a great Wednesday!

– Vic De Zen

