Second Denim Clothing Yoga Jeans (source: Denimology.co.uk)

Second Denim Clothing Yoga Jeans (source: Denimology.co.uk)

As I sit here in front of my computer typing this, I am wearing my new Second Denim Co. yoga jeans in a solid dark blue with grey stitching. The wash is perfect for a night out, casual everyday wear or in a relaxed office environment. Easily paired with sneakers, sandals or heels, these jeans are quite versatile. For the curious, I’m a size 27 and typically wear a 32″ inseam. So far I’m quite pleased with my purchase, which cost $99.95 + tax at Jean Machine. I got a size 27 with a 34″ inseam (I haven’t had a chance to hem them so I rolled them up inwards) and the fit is perfect. I made a second purchase but I’ll talk about that one in a later review.

I’m quite comfortable in my new jeans, they stretch and bend with me, all the while hugging my curves. When I sit down, they don’t dig into my thighs or stomach uncomfortably and sit exactly at my waist. When I feel the material, it’s soft, smooth and durable.  That’s actually the secret to their success according to the official website:

“Made of top-quality denim containing 97% brushed cotton and 3% elastane…with 92% shape memory, while the industry standard is only 64%. And thanks to their revolutionairy treatment, the cuts and styles actually shape, hold, and length then body and help mask its defects.”

The company Second is actually based in Montreal, Quebec, a wondeful source of new (and old) fashion designers. Started by Eric Wazana with “a vision to create a denim company for the ‘real people’ who were always being ignored.” This vision has been translated into the goal of affordable, high quality and fashionable products and I feel the company has succeeded by producing such a comfortable, high quality and innovative product. When I consider the prices of designer jeans at with similar quality, cuts and washes at $200-$400 a pair, I do believe $100 jeans can be deemed affordable. So far, I’m only too happy to support this Canuck brand!

Although also produced in boot cut, straight and flare options, I am quite satisfied with skinny leg jeans. Perhaps in a number of months you’ll see a review for the latest Fall/Winter 2009 line of Yoga Jeans in different cuts. Who knows? 🙂

Oh by the way, I’m sorry about not posting the pictures I promised. I’ll be posting them in my next review, so stay tuned!

– Vic De Zen

